Swimming in the middle of the City!!

Hola corazones!!

Iphone 020

It’s always nice to walk around the city, and most of the time there is always something happening!… I have a tendency to say that that’s why I love NY but the truth is that I love New York because of that and despite of that lol!!

Well last week, we were walking with my friend  trying to find as she described it “naughty fun accessories” for a bachelorette party hahaha, I have heard about a lady that was swimming in Herald Square in midtown Manhattan and my question was how is she swimming there? I guess everything is possible with imagination and a good designer or something like that, so of course we went there to see what was happening.

Iphone 035

She is Diana Nyad, a 64 years old Endurance swimmer from New York, her goal was to swim during 48-hour and her purpose was to rise money to benefit the victims of Superstorm Sandy, there was a 40 yards pool set up in the middle of Herald Square so she could complete her goal, and she did it!

She started on Tuesday  morning, she could only get out of the pool to use the restroom, she ended her 48-hour swim on Thursday morning…. Which was incredible amazing, the whole scene was amazing to see.

Iphone 028 Iphone 029 Iphone 026I won’t talk about the news because you probably saw it or heard about it. What always amazed me is how people can do things that for the rest of us it might be consider impossible or very difficult at least, which in my mind means that’s not for everyone, she is not young which is another excuse killer you know what I mean, she had a purpose and a goal and she did it,  sound so simple but it was not for sure. Of course was not easy but she was able to finish it and showed me that there is no age, conditions or limits when you set up a goal.

Of course you or I can say hey she is an athlete and that’s what she does, but I won’t go to midtown and start swimming, I have my own goals and what I consider challenges, and yes I know that most people wont make their dreams a reality and not everyone will make it big, but I do think that we all have the chances and we all have the tools, some of us might decided to use them and some of us don’t.

Iphone 031 Iphone 027 Iphone 023 Iphone 032

It was a nice reminder that no matter how old or young we think we are or how big or small our goal is or whatever excuse we chose to don’t see that it’s not the world that is against our goals, sometimes it just us and the limitations we create ourselves, the good news for me is that I still have the option to do what I set my mind to do. It won’t be easy, it might take more time that what I thought but it will be worth it, that is my hope…

Thanks for reading, I hope we can be part of that group that follow their dreams and that we can see ourselves in the mirror and say that we are trying, and we will keep trying and keep going!!

Besitos!

Pictures are mine! ©

About Monica

I am a Journalist by vocation and determination, walking by faith not by sight, love sports, crazy about Futbol but mostly I love life! :)
This entry was posted in Blog, Dreams and goals, Fun time, Journalism, Life, Motivation, New York, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

