Brooklyn bound!

Hello s!

Iphone 169

Oh baby it’s cold outside!!

Yes indeed… I have mentioned before the old say; that when it rains it pours, well it has been pouring lately :/, in between an awful cold I’ve been struggling to handle it, and some issues I got myself into it, this past weeks have been a tiny intense to put it in a way. But I have learned to dance under the rain and I walk by faith so everything is alright!!

Anyways before my unwanted rainy days, (figuratively speaking) I have planned to take you to Brooklyn with me! (still figuratively speaking, I’m still in a tied budget other wise I might have invite yo guys ;) hehe)  So I had prepare this post but I couldn’t publish at that moment so here it is!

Some weeks ago one of my best friends came back to New York after visiting her family in Spain, and of course in a girls world two months is a lot, I mean a lot to catch up, so we decided not to wait any longer and get into business lol

Since she is now a proudly resident of Brooklyn one of the five New York City boroughs we decided to met there for some delish brunch to do the required catching up… ;), Brooklyn has this relaxing vibe, things and places tend to be bigger than in Manhattan and probably less expensive depending on the area, even the people has a different vibe, it might be my perception but usually that’s how I feel, so I arrived to Atlantic – Barclays subway station ready to explore and have a fun day!

Iphone 168

As you can see for my lack of post about it, I don’t go to Brooklyn that often, not by choice though, it’s just that I usually hang out around my neighborhood, and in the last few months I don’t actually go out that much anymore, but anyways, I hadn’t seen The Barclays Center since it was built, I know…. shame on me, I think Jay-Z would be very disappointed… lol.

Let me tell you is very impressive, the mirrors sometimes gave you this kind of real weird reflection like if you were editing using an Instagram filter, you can see it in one of the pictures,  so weird but very interesting and of course very nice.

Iphone 170    Iphone 174  Iphone 176

After meeting there we head it to Greenpoint some blocks away, we walked and enjoyed the neighborhood, is an upbeat and multicultural one, with a very relax atmosphere, a lot of tree line houses and apartment buildings all with the same brick color, beautiful!

Iphone 179 Iphone 178

Pati had gone to this Mediterranean restaurant before, so she wanted me to try it. I said yeah Mediterranean food, what can be wrong about that? ;), the restaurant was so cozy, and friendly, you can eat outside or inside, it wasn’t that cold and it was sunny that day but we decided to eat inside, the place have this warm and comfy atmosphere.

Iphone 180 Iphone 182 Iphone 183

pat y yoIphone 184  Iphone 186

Did you see the pillow shams, they look so comfy! Ook moving on to the food, it was time to dig in… I had eaten something before heading there, buuu… big mistake, because I wasn’t that hungry for a full brunch plate, so we decided to share what they call Tapas.

First we ordered an Spanish ‘Pitza’ made with pita, quince paste, Manchego cheese, toasted garlic, crushed red pepper, it wasn’t your regular pizza, it was crusty, the paste felt like it was some sort of jam, it was salty, spicy and sweet at the same time,  which was really good! On top they put the toasted garlic, it was delicious!!

We also had  the Patatas Bravas, cubed fried potatoes with harissa aioli, very spicy for me, but I might not be a good judge on that area, black pepper is spicy in my book lol, but I liked it though, the topping was very creamy, again all was so delish!

Iphone 187  Iphone 189 Iphone 192

We weren’t that hungry but since we ordered tapas and we were sharing, everything was really good but in small portions, we felt like we could add something else, so we ordered this ricotta or feta cheese with pesto and garlic, I don’t remember the name, and I don’t see it in their online menu, but it was sooo good, they served it with grilled whole wheat pita bread, yummy!

Iphone 193

We enjoyed the food and caught up with our lovely sometimes chaotic lives!

The place made it all more personal and warm, I liked the details, like the mirrors in the walls, the flowers that added colors, a very simple but  cozy decoration, it was very nice. And I think at night it might be very romantic… ;)

Iphone 194 Iphone 198 Iphone 199 I love the lamps, a very simple, lay back and home like lighting.

Iphone 203  Iphone 205

It was all delicious, we had a good time there!

Then it was time explore and burn some of the calories and perhaps a time for a coffee and a desert after a good meal. So that’s what we did, we walk around the neighborhood, and we find this nice and again cozy coffee place, I love this type of places, they have this warm feeling that make you feel so comfortable and so relax.

Iphone 206 I found another red door, I love how they look in the brownstone buildings… They kind of stand out.

Iphone 208

The décor of the coffee place was so unique, I liked the menus in wallboards. I had a normal chamomile tea and Pati got a mocha coffee I think…

Iphone 210 Iphone 211 Iphone 213

How cool is that, chairs in the walls lol…

Iphone 214

Iphone 207

We walk back, more brick houses, we had a great afternoon, walking around, talking about our current life status and what the future might bring to us, which we hope will be only  great things, because the best it’s yet to come, so let’s keep walking by faith!

I’m very thankful for my friends, for the people who I have met in New York, it has expanded my world view and I am happy to be surrounded with lovely, nice and warm people!

I hope you enjoy this post, it’s my first restaurant post, oiii… The restaurant name is OLEA in Brooklyn, this is not a review, I am just sharing my experience which was a good and delicious one!! I don’t even remember the name of the coffee place, but it’s in the neighborhood and it was nice too hehe.

If you want you can check online and find reviews of the restaurant if you want to know what other people think about it.

Thanks for reading, let’s keep exploring and enjoying life! Have a warm and full of blessing week!! And you are always welcome to leave a comment :)

Besitos!

Pictures are mine. ©. Yeah for better or worst, haha some of them are kind of blur, I blame my iPhone, not my skills. ;)

About Monica

I am a Journalist by vocation and determination, walking by faith not by sight, love sports, crazy about Futbol but mostly I love life! :)
This entry was posted in Blog, Fall, Food, Friends, Fun time, Life, Motivation, New York, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brooklyn bound!

  1. patriky86 says:

    Moni I love the post!. When u will come back to BK..!!!! WE MISS U!!!!!

Leave a Reply

