Out of Hibernation… #FlashBackFriday!!!

New Year in May?…

word cloud for year 2015

I know I know is almost half of the year but I like to think that each day is a new beginning and if you want a new chance to start all over again, why not? if you feel like it, well you can do it!… I’m not starting a new year, I’m very immerse in mine its been a bit hectic and crazy but I like to think that in a good way, we are going places my friends!!… I’m still in a transition mode but slowly seeing the light not at the end of the tunnel, my light is more at the beginning of a new and exciting adventure, like the light that comes every morning during sunrise. So yes everyday is a new chance a new beginning or a new continue, still walking by faith which means that the best is yet to come! #Keepingitpositive!!

Anyway is May first wohooo!! and like a Bear I am out of my “courage is my name” blog hibernation, because if you have follow my other blog “Sports In High Heels“, you already know that I have made some appearances there but this is my first post of 2015 in this blog, which is the perfect time…. We all know that time is uncontrollable, we can only embrace it and accept that sometimes life has perfect timing… I guess.

Iphone 058 2

Anyhow is Friday so I thought what better way to start this year that by doing a #FlashBackFriday… you probably said what???… I feel like I didn’t finish my last year attempt to show you Christmas in New York, it was a good goal and fun plan but I couldn’t executed as I wanted, hey I’m not complaining I had the best distraction or interruption of all, my Mom came to visit, she was my best christmas gift since I had more than four years without spending any holiday with her. I was more than glad to stop my #ChristmasSelfie mission, maybe next year I will do it in a better way…

It was a tough winter I know that some places got more snow that what we got here but from a person born and raised in a tropical weather, this was incredible freezing!!! Going out became more a mission than a normal activity, so imagine, my mother a woman that gets cold when the fan is on in a tropical weather, yes, it was awful for her, we barely went outside because it was painful for her, she would get all red, and itchy and her face will get red, but she was happy to be here for the holidays!!

So we didn’t go out hence the no more Christmas selfies around the city situation, but we managed to go to a few places, so I will close my #ChristmasSelfie adventures with some pictures.

Let’s start in a place that is well-known for many tourists and people who live here, Macy’s, I showed you the windows in a previous post, but I told you that the best time to really appreciate them is during night-time.

Iphone 047

Since my Mama was here you will see some of her #ChirstmasSelfies… A few Macy’s windows displays at night.

Iphone 093 Iphone 095

Next we bundled up and went to one of the most traditional and overcrowded places during the season, Rockefeller Plaza!!… Love the lights around that area though.

Iphone 148

On our way we stopped in another traditional and iconic place, Radio City Music Hall, the whole area gets all pretty every year, that day I guess they forgot to turn the tree on ;/ … but we still enjoy all the lights and decorations.

Iphone 151

Iphone 152

Haa… My #ChristmasSelfie with the tutu train…

Iphone 154 2

Iphone 157

One more…. -I don’t like my hat, but as it happens every winter I lost all my other ones so I got stuck with the only warm but not good-looking hat- Thank you winter!!

Iphone 158 2

Iphone 160

Moving on… we made it to the famous Rockefeller Plaza’s big Christmas Tree;

Iphone 161 Iphone 162

As you can see the place was packed… but its worthy in my humble opinion, it’s beautiful, is an experience…

Iphone 164 Iphone 173

Can you see my mom in the picture below? hahaha…. incognito!

Iphone 174 Iphone 177 Iphone 178 Iphone 179 Iphone 180

Pretty pretty!! Since we were in the neighborhood we went to see the other famous Christmas window display at Saks Fifth Avenue store; they always have this video display in the building, it’s a kind of short story but it’s very nice.

Iphone 183 Iphone 185

Iphone 187 Iphone 188 Iphone 189 Iphone 190

After watching the video, we crossed the street and went to admirer the beautiful windows displays, this are different that the Macy’s windows, this are more eccentric to use a word..

Iphone 191 Iphone 192 Iphone 193 Iphone 194 Iphone 195 Iphone 196

Unfortunately or fortunately consider how long this post turned out, I ran out of battery so I couldn’t take more pictures, but I think this can give you a close look or idea.

If you have been here and watched all this decoration let me know what do you think, which one you like the most? or the best?

Thank you so much for making it to the end of this post, I won’t take it personal if you only checked the pictures ;)

I hope you enjoy my poor attempt to show you Christmas in New York City… I did enjoy it while it last it, so let’s see if I can come up with another idea to show you New York in another seasons, let me know if you will like to see that? or if you have a special request about New York?

I cannot finish this post or my Christmas season adventures without showing you my Christmas tree… Finally after four years, we had a small but beautiful Christmas tree with a nativity made in my country… all was size appropriate,  I loved it! Having my mom here and having my lights felt a lot like home, like that home that is part of my memories!!

Iphone 044

Iphone 075

Christmas in May?… Why not, it’s never too early, isn’t it??… maybe it is too early, so let’s leave it in a #FlashBackFriday!!

Thank you for reading!! Any comment let me know here or on twitter @MonikJHerrera, you can find me there too!

All pictures are mine ©.. except for the New Year’s. 

About Monica

I am a Journalist by vocation and determination, walking by faith not by sight, love sports, crazy about Futbol but mostly I love life! :)
This entry was posted in Blog, Christmas, Dreams and goals, Family, Fun time, Holiday, Life, Motivation, New York, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out of Hibernation… #FlashBackFriday!!!

  1. Aleyda says:

    Love it

Leave a Reply

